Search Blog



Yerevan (/ˌjɛrəˈvɑːn/; Armenian: Երևան [jɛɾɛˈvɑn],  listen (help·info)), is the capital and largest city of Armenia, and one of the world’s oldest continuously inhabited cities. Situated along the Hrazdan River, Yerevan is the administrative, cultural, and industrial center of the country. It has been the capital since 1918, the thirteenth in the history of Armenia, and the seventh […]

Read More

Tavush Province

Tavush (Armenian: Տավուշ, Armenian pronunciation: [tɑˈvuʃ]), is a province of Armenia. It is located at the northeast of Armenia and bordered by Georgia from the north and Azerbaijan from the east. It is domestically bordered by the Gegharkunik Province from the south, Kotayk Province from the southwest and Lori Province from west. The capital and largest […]

Read More

Vayots Dzor Province

Vayots Dzor (Armenian: Վայոց Ձոր, Armenian pronunciation: [vɑjˌɔt͡sʰ ˈd͡zɔɾ]), is a province of Armenia. It lies at the southeastern end of the country, bordering the Nakhichevan exclave of Azerbaijan form the west and the Shahumyan Region of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic from the east. It covers an area of 2,308 km². With a population of only 53,230 (2002 […]

Read More

Shirak Province

Shirak (Armenian: Շիրակ, Armenian pronunciation: [ʃiˈɾɑk]), is a province (marz) of Armenia. It is located in the north-west of the country, bordering Turkey in the west and Georgia in the north. Its capital and largest city is Gyumri. It is as much semi-desert as it is mountain meadow or high alpine. In the south, the high […]

Read More

Lori Province

Lori (Armenian: Լոռի, Armenian pronunciation: [lɔˈri]), is a province (marz) of Armenia. It is located in the north of the country, bordering Georgia. Vanadzor is the capital and largest city of the province. Other important towns include Stepanavan, Alaverdiand Spitak. It is home to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Haghpat and Sanahin monasteries and the […]

Read More

Armavir Province

Armavir (Armenian: Արմավիր), is a town in the western part of Armenia and the capital of the Armavir Province. It was founded in 1931 by the Soviet government of Armenia. As of the 2011 census, the population of the town is 29,319, declined from 46,900 reported at the 1989 census. The town was known as […]

Read More

Gegharkunik Province

Gegharkunik (Armenian: Գեղարքունիք, Armenian pronunciation: is a province (marz) of Armenia. Its capital and largest city is the town of Gavar. Gegharkunik Province is located at the eastern part of Armenia, bordering Azerbaijan and the Shahumyan Region of Nagorno-Karabakh Republic. With an area of 5,348 km², Gegharkunik is the largest province in Armenia. However, approximately 1,278 km² of […]

Read More

Syunik Province

Syunik (Armenian: Սյունիք, Armenian pronunciation: [sjuˈnikʰ]), is the southernmost province of Armenia. It is bordered by the Vayots Dzor Province from the north, Azerbaijan’s Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic exclave from the west, Nagorno-Karabakh Republicfrom the east, and Iran from the south. Its capital and largest city is the town of Kapan. The National Statistical Service of the […]

Read More

Kotayk Province

Kotayk (Armenian: Կոտայք, Armenian pronunciation: [kɔˈtɑjkʰ]), is a province (marz) of Armenia. It is located at the central part of the country. Its capital is Hrazdan and the largest city is Abovyan. It is named after the Kotayk canton of the historic Ayrarat province of Ancient Armenia. Kotayk is bordered by Lori Province from the north, […]

Read More

Ararat Province

Ararat (Armenian: Արարատ, Armenian pronunciation: [ɑɾɑˈɾɑt]), is a province (marz) of Armenia. Its capital and largest city is the town of Artashat. The province is named after the biblical Mount Ararat. It is bordered by Turkey from the west and Azerbaijan’s Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic from the south. It surrounds the Karki exclave of Nakhichevan which has […]

Read More

Aragatsotn Province

Aragatsotn (Armenian: Արագածոտն, Armenian pronunciation: [ɑɾɑɡɑˈt͡sɔtən]), is a province (marz) of Armenia. It is located at the western part of the country. The capital and largest city of the province is the town of Ashtarak. Etymology Literally meaning “the foot of Aragats” (the highest mountain of the Republic of Armenia), it is named after the Aragatsotn […]

Read More


Karabakh (Armenian: Ղարաբաղ Gharabagh or Արցախ, Artsakh; Azerbaijani: Qarabağ) is a geographic region in present-day eastern Armenia and southwestern Azerbaijan, extending from the highlands of the Lesser Caucasus down to the lowlands between the rivers Kura and Aras. It includes three regions: Highland Karabakh (historical Artsakh, present-day Nagorno-Karabakh), Lowland Karabakh (the southern Kura-steppes), and a […]

Read More